

The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority (as of April 2025)

The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority (MHAA), an independent unit of government in the Executive Branch, serves as the governing body of the Maryland Heritage Areas Program. MHAA is chaired by the current Secretary of the Department of Planning, Rebecca L. Flora. The 19-member body consists of State officials and community and association representatives. The Authority's structure encourages State agencies to work together to share resources and staff expertise to ensure a diverse array of interests are factored into the Program's governance and activities.

Agency	Representative		Proxy Representative
Department of Planning	Secretary Rebecca L. Flora, Chair		
Department of Housing and Community Development	Secretary Jacob R. Day		Melissa Archer, Vice Chair
Department of Transportation	Secretary Paul J. Wiedefeld		Dr. Julie Schablitsky
Department of Commerce	Secretary Harry Coker, Jr.		Luis Cardona
Department of Natural Resources	Secretary Josh Kurtz		Hilary Bell
Maryland Higher Education Commission	Secretary Dr. Sanjay Rai		Geoffrey Newman
State Historic Preservation Officer	Elizabeth Hughes		
Maryland State Cabinet Members (Non-Voting Me	mbers)	
Agency	Representative		Proxy Representative
Department of Agriculture	Secretary Kevin Atticks		Rowland Agbede
State Department of Education	State Superintendent Carey M. Wright, Ed.D.		Peter Ramsey
Governor-appointed community an	d association m	nembers	
Title		Representative	
Maryland Association of Counties		Pete Lesher, Chief Curator, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum	
Maryland Municipal League		Nathan Brown, Mayor, Brunswick	
Maryland Greenways Commission		Inactive	
Maryland Tourism Development Board		Sandy Turner, Cecil County Tourism	
Recommended by the President of the Maryland Senate		Nicholas Redding, President and CEO, Preservation Maryland	
Recommended by the President of the Maryland Senate		Chief Donna Abbott, Nause-Waiwash Band of Indians	
Recommended by the Speaker of House of Delegates		Jonathan Hughes, Principal Deer Park Middle School, Baltimore County Public Schools	
Recommended by the Speaker the House of Delegates		Tara Balfe Clifford, Cliftara CD Consultant and Community Volunteer	
Member of the public who has significant education or experience in historic preservation		Lawana Holland-Moore, Historic Preservation & Research, National Trust for Historic Preservation	
Member of the public who has significant		Dr. Dennis Doster, Black History Program Manager, Prince	
education or experience in heritage tourism		George's County, Maryland	

Maryland State Cabinet Members (Voting Members)